Captain Kathryn M. Shaw

Capt. Kathryn Shaw

Capt Katy Shaw is the Operations Flight Commander, Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) Detachment 535 at Syracuse University. In this capacity, Captain Shaw oversees the 70-member cadet corps and instructs the Leadership Laboratory course. Through direct contact, Captain Shaw promotes Air Force career opportunities to university and high school students, faculty, parents, and administrators. Additionally, she instructs the first-year aerospace studies courses.

Capt Shaw enlisted in March of 2004 and spent 12 years in various positions as an Aircraft Armament Specialist; deploying in support of Operation ENDURING FREEDOM. She commissioned through Officer Training School in 2015 and was a distinguished graduate through Intercontinental Ballistic Operations training at Vandenberg AFB. As a Missileer, she oversaw 150 Minuteman III nuclear Intercontinental Ballistic Missiles and was accountable to the President, Secretary of Defense, and Commander of United States Strategic Command for launch actions upon direction. Prior to her current position, the captain was assigned as a Nuclear Cryptographic Operator for the 90th Missile Wing, being responsible for the production, control, issue, and recovery of 3,500 nuclear critical code components worth over $216M.


  • 2008 Airman Leadership School, Tyndall Air Force Base, Fla
  • 2009 Associate in Applied Science, Aircraft Armament Systems Technology, Community College of the Air Force, Maxwell AFB, Ala
  • 2015 Bachelor of Science in Professional Aeronautics, Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, Fla 2016 Officer Training School, Maxwell AFB, Ala
  • 2021 Squadron Officer School, Maxwell AFB, Ala., by correspondence 2021 Masters of Education in School Counseling, Liberty University, Va


  1. March 2004 – November 2008, F-22 Weapons Load Crew Member, 325th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Tyndall Air Force Base, Fla
  2. November 2008 – July 2010, F-22 Weapons Load Crew Chief, 325th Maintenance Group, Tyndall AFB, Fla
  3. July 2010 – May 2011, F-22 Loading Standardization Lead Crew Chief, 325th Maintenance Group, Tyndall AFB, Fla
  4. May 2011 – May 2013, Special Operations Weapons Load Crew Chief, 27th Special Operations Squadron, Cannon AFB, N.M. (Kandahar AFB, Afghanistan)
  5. May 2013 – September 2015, Armament Expediter, 27th Special Operations Squadron, Cannon AFB, NM
  6. September 2015 – June 2016, Student ICBM Operations Training (REACT), 532d Training Squadron, Vandenberg AFB, Calif
  7. July 2016 – June 2017, Executive Officer, 90th Maintenance Group, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo
  8. July 2017 – August 2018, ICBM Deputy Mission Lead Combat Crew Commander, 320th Missile Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo
  9. August 2018 – February 2019, Unit Program Manager, 320th Missile Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo
  10. February 2019 – June 2019, Crew Commander/MMIII, 320th Missile Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo
  11. June 2019 – June 2020, Mission Lead/MMIII, 320th Missile Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo
  12. June 2020 – June 2022, Nuclear Cryptographic Operator/MMIII, 90th Operations Squadron, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo
  13. June 2022 – Present, Operations Flight Commander, AFROTC Detachment 535, Syracuse University, N.Y.


  • Air and Space Commendation Medal with oak leaf cluster Air and Space Achievement Medal with two oak leaf clusters Combat Readiness Medal with oak leaf cluster
  • Air Force Good Conduct Medal with two oak leaf clusters National Defense Service Medal
  • Afghanistan Campaign Medal with one service star Global War on Terrorism Service Medal
  • Nuclear Deterrence Operations Service Medal with one “N” device NATO Medal
  • John L. Levitow Award
  • NCO Maintenance Professional of the Year, 2013


Airman                          March 9, 2004
Airman First Class         January 9, 2005
Senior Airman               March 9, 2007
Staff Sergeant               June 1, 2009
Technical Sergeant        June 1, 2013
Second Lieutenant         September 25, 2015
First Lieutenant              September 25, 2017
Captain                         October 1, 2020

(Current as of July 2022)